Jump rope nightmares…

I’ve begun imagining my life as a personal trainer. That’s a good thing as my six month training program will begin in 3 1/2 weeks. I start by thinking – how can I make sure I don’t embarrass myself on the very first day of class?! Sometimes I fixate on the three things we are required to purchase – body calipers (never to be used on myself I say to myself reassuringly), a stop watch (ok, that item doesn’t seem so bad), and a jump rope. For some reason, thinking about that jump rope scares me half to death. What horrible number of repetitions will I be asked to do? Can I even jump rope? I was a really good jacks player back in the day but was I able to jump rope?…I honestly can’t remember! So I do the only sane thing that someone alive in 2016 does – I do a Google search on “exercises with a jump rope” and follow links to a really good YouTube video. It turns out that I already own a jump rope though for the life of me I have no recollection of how that came to be in my house. Pumped by the clarity of the “how to” video, I’m determined to give it a try. Unfortunately I discover that the jump rope I have is way too long for me and then spend a good half hour trying to figure out how to shorten it. I don’t succeed. I’m still having nightmares.

You know the saying “fake it until you make it”? So I’m thinking I need to pretend I’m living as if I were a real trainer even though I am most definitely not. For example, I’ve been working out for two years and three months. (Do you think it is weird that I know this exactly?) Never once during all that time did I utilize my front steps for anything other than what normal people use steps for. Last weekend, though, it struck me totally out of the blue that I can run up and down them like I do in boot camp. (Truly, it never once crossed my mind to do that prior to that moment!) So I do – ten times. I am pretty proud of myself. That’s something a real trainer would do, right?

Last Sunday, still elated that I no longer work on Sunday mornings, I decide to get some exercise since I’m sure that is what real trainers would do with their Sunday mornings. But I absolutely do not want to go to the gym; nor do I want to jog. So I head over to the Beltline – one of my favorite places in Atlanta – and decide to go for a really long walk. And I do. I walk for 2 hours and 10 minutes. I’m not totally sure that counts as a “real trainer” activity but I love to walk and it feels great.

P.S. If you see me driving out-of-town on June 28, my first day of school, you have my permission to drag me from my car and make me go to class. Really, how badly can I possibly embarrass myself, right?

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Jump rope nightmares…

  1. Elise and Jay Boyer says:

    blockquote, div.yahoo_quoted { margin-left: 0 !important; border-left:1px #715FFA solid !important; padding-left:1ex !important; background-color:white !important; } I am so excited for you!ย 

    Sent from Yahoo Mail for iPad

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Michelle says:

    I have a friend who works there in the massage department who will be looking for you. His name is Jeff. He said that you would fit in and not be the only person like yourself there. Being out of your comfort zone and doing new things is very intimidating. I believe in you and know you can do this. Also, I think training is about encouragement and guidance. Of course you have to be in shape, but you are. It’s ok to be scared, but I think you’ve got this.

    Like

  3. Just the words I need to hear. Thanks so much Michelle. And thanks for mentioning me to Jeff. I will look for him as well.

    Like

  4. Kenneth says:

    You are so funny. Good post and keep thinking like a trainer!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The beach is a good place for jump ropes, right…? ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  6. juliareidy says:

    Was the jump rope mine? ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

Leave a comment