A year of answers…

There are years that ask questions and years that answer. ~ Zora Neale Hurston

Live as if you are going to die tomorrow. Learn as if you are going to live forever.    ~ Gandhi

Two thousand sixteen was definitely a year of questions. I had the luxury of time and space for deep reflection and exploration. It was at times a lonely journey but I’m thinking that was the way it had to be. We humans are so resistant to change; we have to practically be forced to head in a different direction even if it is in our own best interest. By forced I mean being in a place without distraction or rescue where you finally have no choice but to look yourself squarely in the eye and acknowledge what is missing and what you truly need. In Simple Abundance, Sarah Ban Breathnach suggests that if you feel a sadness that cannot be named it might be because of the following:

Perhaps the heart of our melancholy is that we miss the woman we were meant to be.

When I read those words, I felt the shock of recognition – clearly she was talking directly to me! She goes on to say that “even if you have ignored your authentic self for decades, ‘she’ has been waiting patiently for you to recognize her and to reconnect.” My sojourn these last few months gives me hope that this is so.

Which brings me to 2017 which I am convinced will be a year of answers. Okay, let me start by saying that 17 is my lucky number. I no longer remember why exactly, I just know deep down it is. So, right from the beginning, this new year has an auspicious start. And then there’s the fact that all my soul-searching these past few months has put in motion some things which I plan to pursue in earnest moving forward. I’m embracing the importance of being a learner, as Gandhi advised. On a regular basis now I practice Qi Gong (holdenqigong.com) and Spanish (DuoLingo app). I’m also committed to finally becoming a cook and have just registered for a 30 day on-line class that promises to turn me into someone who can confidently prepare meals without recipes (foodistkitchen.com). Can you hear the heavenly choir sing “hallelujah” at the mention of my FINALLY becoming a cook?! But that’s not all. I also want to learn to draw and plan to take a beginner’s class in the near future through Emory Continuing Education. And, I still have a few classes left on my Dance 101 card. In a former life I must have been a Latina because Salsa feels very natural to me; on the other hand, I have my doubts about Hip Hop. Another goal for 2017 – be willing to make a fool of myself from time to time! So, to that end, Hip Hop here I come!

But what about work? I have good news in that department as well. After endless hours of listening “to the whispers of my heart” (Breathnach), I’m owning my desire to become a Wellness Coach. I don’t have a road map for getting there as of yet but I’m working on it. The beauty about making wellness one’s job, is that there is no separation between living and working. Every healthy choice I make in my personal life about moving, eating, and mindfulness adds to my knowledge and understanding of what it means to live with vitality, purpose, and authenticity. Which I can then use to better guide others. And that’s where I’m headed…

wholeness-slider

This entry was posted in wellness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A year of answers…

  1. JB West says:

    Beautiful thoughts and positive directions for this year! I absolutely love your ideas and how you plan to implement them. There are so many areas in your post that I relate to but to mention them all would be too long for a comment. Two things grabbed my attention in an almost electric way: Qi Gong, which I was introduced to at a silent retreat I attend in Northern California and our mutual goal of becoming a life/wellness coach. I will definitely stay tuned for future ideas from you. I’m taking all the inspirations I received from this post to as triggers for my own posts. Thank you, thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

